Not Reading, but Drowning

Image

People who shared a late 80s/early 90s childhood with me will remember the amazing The Never Ending Story. I thought that no such thing as a never ending story could ever really exist, but then I started reading The Luminaries and got trapped in the nightmare world of the Ribbon Bookmark That Never Moved.  It’s good, don’t get me wrong, but I’m now in my seventh week of reading the bloody thing and I really just want to get it finished. At least I’m past the half way point at long last…I am determined to get to the end this week and will hopefully have a review for you soon!

26 comments

  1. I loved the Luminaries and read it in six days! – maybe you are one of those readers who have several books on the go at any one time – I can never manage that. I read it on kindle and while on holiday from work – I think that might have helped :)

    1. I only have about 15 minutes reading time a day which is why it took me so long! If I’d had loads of time to read I would have sped through much faster – then maybe I would have enjoyed it more!

  2. Yes it seems endless but it gets easier and faster to read as the chapters shorten.

    I LOVED it but felt like you – “Will it NEVER end?’ But i can’t stop reliving it in my mind.
    Moira

  3. I’ve had this experience with a few lately and I think I’m coming over to the “life’s too short to read bad books” side. Good luck with The Luminaries if you’re going to the end. Love the Neverending Story Reference!

  4. Oh dear, there’s no hope for me then, I am not getting through books at all quickly these days, I waste too much time on my iPad and the dreadful but addictive Daily Mail website….Kardashians anyone?

  5. I usually love big fat books but I’m keeping away from Luminaries for now. I’m a little concerned with the period racism I’ve heard mentioned in reviews.

    1. It’s not worth the time commitment, in my opinion. Period racism doesn’t bother me, I have to say, but I can appreciate that some might find it off putting. However, in The Luminaries it is certainly not gratuitous nor offensive so I wouldn’t let it put you off if you do want to give it a try.

  6. Too much like hard work, like dragging along through mud. Not that the writing was bad – it’s stunning at times – but I wanted it to move more sinuously, more vigourously.
    So it’s back to my re-reading for a while. What a sweet feeling, opening a Virago book!

    1. I wish I had abandoned it earlier…I am too much of a completer finisher for my own good! I am now happily reading the last in the Hunger Games series…such sweet relief!

  7. Hi Rachel, I left a post a few months ago recommending you read this book! The chapters get shorter as you go on, which makes it easier. The last chapter just made me shout out in delighted anger. It is so exasperating and clever. I hope it grows on you!

  8. Great line from “The Simpsons” when Homer wants to sue an all-you-can-eat restaurant for kicking him out after several hours if non-stop eating:

    Homer: “Do I have a case?”

    Lawyer: “Mr. Simpson, I haven’t seen such an open-and-shut case since I sued the producers of The Never-Ending Story.”

Leave a Reply

