The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Ican’tspellhernameegger

I’ve been holding out on reading this for literally years. First my work friend told me to read it, then my sister did, then posters on the tube told me how wonderful and five stars brilliant it was, then Richard and Judy shoved it in everyone’s face with their ‘book club’ that isn’t really a club, actually, and then every charity shop I went in had a bazillion copies and whispered ‘buy me’ in my ear as I picked up every book around those Richard and Judy stickered little bundles of mass marketed literature…for years I refused to jump on the bandwagon, and last week, last week I finally resisted.

I got my copy from a kind local lady through freecycle, as I refused to pay for the privilege and instead got lost in deepest darkest South East London as I couldn’t be bothered to take a map, which served me right. Many three point turns later I returned to my flat with The Time Traveler’s Wife, and three days later I reemerged into the world, teary and stunned and confused and in love with this strange, nonsensical but somehow still completely believable novel, and very annoyed at myself for delaying this reading pleasure for so long. Over those three days I took this book with me everywhere and couldn’t stop reading; on the train, on the tube, on my lunchbreak, whilst cooking, whilst in a coffee shop with friends (rude, I know, but seriously, you’ll get it when you start reading), whilst ‘babysitting’ my nephews, while walking down the street, while driving (at traffic lights, of course) and while in bed…at 3am, 4am…it took over my life. I haven’t read a book that did that to me since Rebecca. Rebecca was so engrossing it made me fall down the stairs. It broke my heart, but at the same time, filled me with hope. It is a remarkable piece of writing that is inventive and moving and downright irresistible. I couldn’t have been more wrong in my preassessment. Read it!

The film is coming out soon. Of course it won’t be as good as the book, as these things never are (though Gwyneth Paltrow’s Emma does a very good job), but I’m very much looking forward to seeing how the book of my imagination gets portrayed on screen. Below are the stars – The Notebook‘s Rachel McAdams and Hulk‘s Eric Bana. I can’t stand Eric Bana which is disappointing but Rachel McAdams gets my seal of approval. From the looks of the trailer there is going to be a lot of lip action as illustrated here so I just hope it’s not too much on the steamy side of things!

Even more excitedly, she whose name I cannot spell has written another novel due out this year, and Highgate Cemetery has a big role in it. I love love love Highgate Cemetery and have tons of creepy postcards of sepia tinted graves on my wall…the Victorians knew how to do death. I have high hopes and have preordered it already…the cover design leaves much to be desired but I know better than to judge by the cover in this case…I am a changed woman.

9 comments

  1. I tried this once, and quit. But your excellent review has convinced me to try again and very soon. Wonderful write-up. And I thank you for coming to visit my blog. This is the wonder of the blogging world to me. In 'real life' how many 61 year olds and 23 years olds would get together and talk about books. Not many, I fear.

  2. Thank you Nan. I know, the internet has brought many a friendship into my life that I would never have made otherwise. Isn't it wonderful?Please do find the time to read this – suspend disbelief and just go with it – it rewards you in the end!

  3. I liked Time Traveler's Wife a Lot also and look forward to her next book. I wonder if the movie will glamorize the profession of the librarian. To me, the book also tells us a lot about the reading life. I have tried to give some thoughts on this atrereadinglives.blogspot.comThanks for your very good hesrtfelt review of this book

  4. You're not alone. Although I didn't wait as long as you did, I still had multiple people pushing the book at me and still delayed until I felt like reading it. Oh what a fool I was! It was wonderful! I cried uncontrollably throughout the last 50 pages or so and was an emotional wreck for days afterwards. It was such a fulfilling reading experience, one that doesn't happen nearly often enough. Like you I have no doubt that the film will be no where near as good as the book. I don't see how the book is filmable at all. But I'll go see it in the hopes that at the very least it is a good, romantic film.I get the impression from what little I've scanned of your blog that most of your reading is classics rather than contemporary works like this. Forgive me if I'm wrong. If I may be allowed to suggest a title that you MIGHT like, The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield has a nice classic vibe to it. Like TTW, it seems to be a love it or loathe it book and I have no idea which side of the fence you would fall on, but I do know that, in a different way, it was the next book after TTW that I fell deeply into and couldn't let go of for days.

  5. Oh Carl I completely agree about how fulfilling reading this book was. It's now doing the rounds of my friends and everyone is singing its praises.Coincidentally I'm actually going to see the film tonight…it opens today in the UK and I couldn't wait so I've booked tickets and am hoping I won't be too disappointed though I have read some largely terrible reviews…I wonder if the reviewers have actually read the book though? They keep bleating on about how it's 'unrealistic' but of course it it…time travel doesn't exist. You need to get over that hurdle to really let yourself go into the story.You're right in that I read very little modern fiction…I succumb to the odd latest release, like A.S.Byatt, or Margaret Atwood, or Carlos Ruiz Zafon, but not many. I just prefer pre 1950's stuff in general, I'm not sure why. However I have had The Thirteenth Tale recommended to me and I will now keep an eye out for it in the charity shops I frequent!Thank you so much for visiting my blog!

  6. *Sigh.* I cried almost constantly during the last half of this book. I’d have to stop and wait until I could keep reading. (The only other book that affected me that way was “Raintree County”. I read “Raintree County” eons ago — the 1950s?) I refuse to see the movie version of “The Time Traveler’s Wife”. I want the images I have in my mind to stay there. If you’ve ever loved and lost — this book will sing to you. The longing to be in the physical presence of your son/daughter/mother/father/husband/wife just one more time, for one more minute . . . I don’ have the words. But Audrey Ican’tspellhernamegger does.

  7. Ha. I still haven’t read this one! And it is 2013. Last year I found a copy on a bench in London Bridge and brought it home with me. I will give it a go soon. (ish)

  8. Oh wow! I just stumbled across your blog today while googling “not enjoying The Luminaries” and I’ve now signed up to follow this blog (and also Old Fashioned Girls). I can see we would be book friends if we met in real life – you love Persuasion and you love The Time Traveller’s Wife – all indicators of excellent reading taste! I discovered this book in my late 20’s, and it claimed a piece of my heart (as all the best books do). I fell in love with Henry and I too wept as I read this book (actually I bawled my eyes out to be honest)! It is a book that I reread every few years as I love it so much. Books are so magical and wonderful – I really pity anyone that does not know the joys of reading and how a great book can transport the reader to another realm of magic, mystery and excitement. Thank you for your wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

