A Virago Collage!

I was inspired today by Verity’s new blogging venture – attempting to read all of the Virago Modern Classics – to photograph my collection and do a little collage with the help of Picasa. I really love Virago Modern Classics; not only are the original green covers (mostly) beautiful, but they are excellently chosen, wonderful stories that have yet to disappoint me. If you are new to them, here is a nice article about them in the Guardian.

My favourite covers are from The Brontes Went to Woolworths, Illyrian Spring and The Odd Women.

My least favourite cover is a toss up between Mrs Miniver and The Well of Loneliness. Both are slightly unattractive portraits of womanhood. They upset me a little.

I can no longer collect because of my sad self imposed but entirely sensible book ban, but for the moment I can take pleasure in the delightful collection I already have. I love Viragos!!!

10 comments

  1. Beautiful collection! I am particularly fond of the cover for The Brontes Went to Woolworths too.How many of these have you read? Hopefully your collection will keep you occupied for a while during your self-imposed ban. I should really attempt one of those myself.

  2. That is beautiful. Thank you for posting about my challenge – I hope you will continue to follow it. PS Book bans – I imposed one, but it didn't last!

  3. I love your blog! I've fallen in love with Persephone titles and other inter-war books so I'll be stopping by to discover what you've been reading. Have a lovely weekend.

  4. Beautiful! Great minds – I (re)posted my Virago collage today.Did you get a chance to go to the Fabiola exhibition? If yes, what did you think?

  5. Thanks everybody! Glad you like.Simon I did indeed go and see the Fabiola exhibition today – I was blown away by it. I stayed in there for ages, looking at all of the different expressions of the various Fabiolas, and finding it fascinating how different people's interpretations of the same image can be…I especially liked the one made of seeds – who knew that Red Kidney Beans could create such a striking image! Thank you so much for posting about it, I would never have heard about it otherwise.

  6. That collage is just so very lovely. I would love to have a throw, a quilt or a wall hanging of it. Can't you just picture it on the back of the rocker, on the bed or hanging on that very special place on the wall? Yummy!~!belva

  7. Thank you so much for your comments everyone! Belva, I agree – I am a quilter; once I've finished my current project which is taking me ages perhaps I will do a virago quilt!Darlene thank you for visiting me – I have been frequenting your blog for a while so I'm glad you've found me too!!

Leave a Reply

