Off to Bath!

I am sitting in my office, listening to the sounds of the Brompton Oratory’s organ practice next door, and the dulcet tones of pneumatic drills from the building site of the new Medieval and Renaissance galleries which are being finished off beneath me (opening very soon – and they look spectacular!), and am very much looking forward to my trip to Bath which starts tomorrow. I’ll be gone Saturday to Saturday so no posts for a week, but no doubt I’ll have lots of photos to delight you with when I get back.

With me on my trip I will be taking the book I am currently reading, Frances Hodgson Burnett’s In Connection With the De Willoughby Claim, which is Victorian melodrama at its best and if you like that sort of thing it’s highly recommended! I will post a more in depth review when I am back and also bore you with photos of my FHB collection, following on from Elaine’s wonderful post on the topic last month. I will also be taking Dorothy Whipple’s The Closed Door and Other Stories so that I can still take part in Persephone Reading Week so brilliantly thought up by Verity and Claire.

I am greatly looking forward to pretending to be Anne Elliot running through the streets of Bath to find Captain Wentworth and tell him that she does indeed accept his proposal, and will never be persuaded otherwise, to visiting the American Museum in Britain (which I have been longing to visit since Persephone mentioned it years ago when they were doing an exhibition on Dollar Princesses, the American heiresses who came over the Atlantic to marry titles in the late Victorian era, which made them decide to put forward the release of The Shuttle), and also to visiting Tyntesfield, a fantastic Victorian Gothic monstrosity of a house that the National Trust is in the process of restoring. So it’s going to be a busy week, the first part of which I will be volunteering at yet another Christian youth event called Soul Survivor, but it’s going to be immensely good fun. I just hope I manage to fit some reading in!

See you all in a week!

11 comments

  1. Hope you have a lovely time. I've got The Third Miss Symons in my bag for today, encouraged to read it by your review!

  2. Enjoy your trip to Bath and the Whipple!After reading Persuasion recently I am most envious of your intended literary pretense.

  3. Have a lovely time! Bath is remarkable, even in the depth of January, when I visited. Be sure to be a thorough tourist like me, and have tea in the Jane Austen Room of the Sally Lunn House!

  4. I am sure you will be exceedingly diverted! Can't wait for the photos and stories once you get back, I am so envious!!!

  5. Friends of mine have just come back from Bath and had a wonderful time, but they failed to do the two things that in my mind are essential when visiting that city. They didn't go to the American Museum, which is indeed a wonderful place to visit, especially if you happen to be interested in quilting. And, horror of horrors, they didn't take tea at the Pump Room. You have to have afternoon tea at the Pump Room.

  6. Have a wonderful time, Rachel. I'm amazed that there is an American Museum. I went to the link and would love to go to the real thing.

  7. Thanks for your good wishes everyone! It is currently pouring down but I am having fun at camp despite the chilly dampness (and I have a computer in my staffroom!) and in two days I'll be in Bath itself soaking up the culture and swooning against 'Jane Austen was here' type buildings! Can't wait! I am looking forward to telling you all about my trip when I return!

Leave a Reply

