Why my life just got more exciting!

I have a life just like everyone else’s. On an average weekday I get up, I shower, I get dressed, I drink tea, I eat toast, I brush my teeth, I leave the house, I get on a train, I read, I get off that train and get a tube, I stare out of the tube window, I get off the tube, I walk to work, I switch my computer on, I drink more tea, I do some work, I think about stuff I’d rather be doing, eat some lunch, do some more work and some more thinking about stuff I’d rather be doing, switch my computer off, walk to the tube station, get on a tube, get off the tube and on a train, read, get off the train, walk home, cook some dinner, talk to my flatmates, get out my laptop, do some blogging, watch some TV while sewing my endless patchwork quilt, get changed into my pyjamas, collapse into bed, read, then go to sleep.

So far, so familiar.

But…on Saturday morning my life just got more exciting. The heaviest footed postman you will ever meet pounded his way up the communal stairs and dumped a heavy sounding parcel outside my front door. I sleepily stumbled out to find THIS waiting for me. Ignore the freaky cover and look at the title! Yes my friends, I have a review copy of Her Fearful Symmetry, thanks to the lovely people at Jonathan Cape! And it’s good. So good. I feel smug and privileged and better than everyone else because I am walking around with a book that is not even out yet in my bag. I am reading words other people can’t read yet. And it has taken my life to a whole new level of exciting. I could be a hotshot book reviewer. I’m not, but I could be. Because I have a review copy!

I am not going to sleep until I finish this book. Expect a review very shortly. I love this book so much I am annoyed that I have to be at work because it’s taking up precious time in which I could be FINDING OUT DARK SECRETS! In the meantime I am going to savour every second of my new wonderful existence and flaunt my not available anywhere else copy of this amazing book everywhere I go! Get your preorders in on amazon everyone! You won’t regret it, trust me!

13 comments

  1. Ooh exciting! I'm glad that you are enjoying it and that you are able to forge out more time tonight to read it. I have my copy preordered and can't wait to read it.

  2. Oooh I got my copy only the other day and as soon as Dorian Gray is finshed will be polishing this one off too! Or maybe I should wait until after The Law and the Lady or is it The Lady and the Law?

  3. You lucky thing! I've just found your blog via Claire at Paperback Reader. Great posts – I've added you to my blogroll and will visit again soon.Annabel

  4. How truly exciting! I was so lucky as to have the same experience and loved having a bit of knowledge that few others had. An advance copy of My Sister's Keeper was given to me by someone from the publishing company and having met Jodi Picoult I emailed her to let her know. She was so excited for me to finish the book and let her know what I thought. Imagine! Enjoy your book Rachel and by the way, I think you'd make an excellent hotshot reviewer!

  5. I felt exactly like this when I got my copy – I was all, yeah, that's right, I have an ARC. Plus it was more fun reading it because it felt slightly illicit to have it at all. 🙂

  6. Claire – You are going to love it!Simon – DO NOT WAIT! Wilkie can wait, you need to read this first!Annabel – Hello! Welcome. I shall be popping over to your blog!Bloomsbury and Nevine – Stay tuned! Review forthcoming!Astrid – You are kind, thank you! I hope it isn't, this smugness is rather nice!Darlene – I am SO glad you understand! And that you've preordered – trust me, you won't regret it!Jenny – It was YOUR post that made me email Jonathan Cape and ask for a copy – I thought, what's to lose? I still can't believe it worked!Right can't stay to chat…I had to sleep last night after all as I got too tired so my lunchbreak is going to be an hour of uninterrupted reading!

  7. "What's to lose?" indeed – my copy is now on its way! Hee. I can cancel my pre-order and read it sooner than I thought!

  8. Isn't it exciting to have a really good book before it's even been published and be able to read it before anyone else? I had to laugh at a comment you made to someone about sneaking a line or two at work. Something I would of course never do, no,no, never….

Leave a Reply

