And so it begins…

I have started The Children’s Book. It is, so far, surpassing my expectations and I am not feeling swamped as I had worried. Though A S Byatt does need to be reminded on the odd occassion that she is in fact writing a novel and not a dissertation entitled ‘I know everything about the Victorians! Let me tell you every meticulously researched detail of their daily lives! ‘. It does remind me in both its style and content of the absolutely marvellous Possession, which is one of my all time favourite books, so this is a very good start.

Incidentally I have noticed that Possession has been rereleased with a cover to resemble that of The Children’s Book, and on the front it says ‘by the author of The Children’s Book‘. Has The Children’s Book already surpassed Possession‘s fame, I wonder?

As long as I manage to read it a bit faster than I currently am (it took me my whole half an hour train journey this morning to read just 30 pages which isn’t very good, is it?) I should be finished in a week or so. I hope. So bear with me, a review will be forthcoming at some point next week!

7 comments

  1. Hmm…I'm looking forward to reading more what people think about this. I read one of hers which I didn't really get on with, and have never quite got around to reading Possession. I need to be inspired to read her!

  2. I am about 160 pages in; I find that it is time-consuming for so few pages at a time.I am not enthralled yet although every so often engage with it. The writing is stunning but there is a LOT of [superfluous] detail.

  3. I almost wet myself (and gaffawed quite loudly) at "A S Byatt does need to be reminded on the odd occassion that she is in fact writing a novel and not a dissertation entitled 'I know everything about the Victorians! Let me tell you every meticulously researched detail of their daily lives!" as I felt the same on many an occasion with this book, but still completely loved it!

  4. This book came up for me at the library in May, just before I left for London. My name went back on the hold list and I'm still waiting, humph! Perhaps it's not a bad thing though, when there are no holds left I'll be able to have it for three weeks instead of two. And by the sounds of things, I'll need it! Possession was a church basement sale find last summer so if I'm feeling really left out then I could start that title first. LOVED the film!

  5. I put The Children's Book aside as Simon Mawer's The Glass House just took over and pushed it to one side! Like PBR I'm about 150 pages in and it is taking me a looong time but it is interesting – but will it be interesting enough to get me to the end I wonder?Oh and I can't read you previous post about The Tortoise and the Hare yet as I have half the book to go (yes, another book I have put The Children's Book aside for!)

  6. Am laughing at the part about Byatt needing a reminder about books not being a dissertation. I have a friend who reviews books for a newspaper, and she said much the same thing about The Children's Book, although not quite as nicely. It sounds interesting, though, and I'm looking forward to hearing what you think of it when you're done.

  7. Verity – You MUST give Possession a go, I am almost certain you will love it. The librarian in you will be very upset at what goes on though…theft of library property and everything!Claire – You and I must be in about the same place. I have been swept up in it now, though I am beginning to wonder whether all of the characters are really necessary…I need a family tree in mine as I am getting very confused!Simon – Haha glad you liked that line! I will have to read your review…I haven't seen any around for this!Darlene – Read Possession! The Children's Book is very much like it in some ways. It is very different to the film though, I will warn you! Samantha – Don't give up! Oooh I presume you're reading for Cornflower's group, too – can't wait for your thoughts on it!Makedo – Thanks! Are you going to give it a go?

Leave a Reply

