Off to Bronte Country

Early tomorrow morning I am off to Yorkshire! I am so excited! Our first stop will be Whitby, home of the famous Abbey and inspiration of Bram Stoker to write Dracula…how we will fare in the wind and rain I do not know, but a bit of extreme weather isn’t enough to put two hardy Englishwomen off and we can’t wait to go for bracing walks along the beach and scare ourselves silly on a Dracula tour.

Next up will be Haworth, home of the Brontes, and a place I have been longing to visit since I wrote my dissertation on them. I am so thrilled to be getting to see the house where the Brontes lived, and the surrounding area that they knew and loved so well. I am also excited to go for a walk on the famous moors and I know I am going to love buying tat from the Bronte House gift shop!

So lots of fun to be had and I will be back on Monday evening to tell the tale of my trip and of course post lots of photos. I am secretly hoping that we may accidentally perhaps on purpose bump into a few second hand bookshops as well…so I will hopefully have some new purchases to show off too, even though I am not supposed to be buying any more books until Christmas!

I hope you all have lovely weekends and I will see you next week!

11 comments

  1. Have a fantastic time. I look forward to hearing all about it when you get back. Haworth is wonderful, you will love it.

  2. I love love love Haworth and was there last year. I am planning another visit next year and Yorkshire is one of my favourite parts of the UK. I am a Bronte fan so look forward to hearing all about it when you get back. I shall send you some photos I took last year off blog

  3. Enjoy! Justine Picardie described in well in Daphne (her novel about Du Maurier and the Brontes) and I would love to visit.Be good in those secondhand bookshops!

  4. Have a lovely time – I'm so jealous! I love that picture though, how creepy the painted-out Branwell is.

  5. How wonderful Rachel! I wish I could do the same trip sometime. Looking forward to reading about your travels…

  6. I went to Haworth with Novel Insights and a few of our friends a few years ago and it was wonderful enjoy the parsonage its just brilliant.I am most jealous about Whitby have always wanted to go there since reading The Whitby Witches (my fav childhood book)!

  7. I am deeply envious. I'd love to go again. Hope you get to see the purple heather on the moors (not sure what time of year it comes out!) and the Black Bull pub where Branwell used to drink. I saw that Bronte portrait at the National Portrait Gallery last year and it is mesmerising. Look forward to your review.

Leave a Reply

