It’s coming on Christmas…

First off, don’t you just love the Coca-Cola Father Christmas? Christmas only starts for me when the first Coca-Cola advert comes on, and the trucks wind through the roads of America with everyone singing Holidays are coming…holidays are coming…I was pleased to see a return to the traditional advert this year rather than the abominations they have been releasing over the past couple of years. Especially that horrible one where it showed the little girl growing into an old woman; thanks Coca-Cola for reminding me of my mortality at Christmas. Such a cheery message.
Anyway, I thought Christmas was supposed to be a time of winding down but for me it has been a case of winding up; hence the lack of posts. For some reason, perhaps that end of year desire to tick off all the tasks on our to-do lists, work has been ridiculously busy, meaning my usual stolen moments for surfing the net recreationally (that sounds almost like a drug habit, doesn’t it?!) have all but disappeared under a mountain of paperwork and database entries. My evenings have been taken up with parties and seeing friends for Christmas drinks and dinners and birthdays (who knew so many people were born in December?!), not to mention the weekends spent frantically shopping for those last Christmas presents, negotiating the crowds, getting hit by oversized shopping bags, drinking copious amounts of chai tea and getting parking tickets (oh, yes!). Can you tell I find Christmas stressful?!

But soon the stress will be over; Wednesday is my last day at work until January, which sounds more impressive than it is; I think I have just over a week off work. On Christmas Eve morning I’ll be getting into my little Mini, loaded up with Christmas presents; I’ll be putting on Chris Rea’s Driving Home for Christmas, and I will be driving out to the Kent countryside to my mum’s house, which will be a peaceful, clean, food filled oasis of calm with a fire and a proper Christmas tree. Finally I will be able to relax and unwind and I can’t wait. This year it will be just me, mum and dad, as my brother and sister and their partners and children will be elsewhere. I’m a bit sad as while we’re used to not having my sister there as she takes it in turns to spend Christmas with us and her husband’s family who live several hours away, I’ve never not had my brother at home for Christmas, so I suppose this year I shall find out what it’s like to be an only child! On the upside I won’t have anyone to fight over the chocolates with!
My general Christmas plans involve sleeping a lot, thinking about what I’m going to do with my life in 2010, lazing around and picking at food I don’t need but will eat just because it’s there, watching terrible films with my mum (our personal Christmas favourite is While You Were Sleeping) and catching up on some reading. Due to the aforementioned general whirl of busyness I haven’t done much reading of late; I’m working my way through The Journal of Dora Damage at the moment, a Victorian set sensation novel of sorts along the lines of a Sarah Waters book, with a similar vein in illicit sexual shenanigans. I’m really enjoying it and a review will come eventually! I will be taking Good Wives and East Lynne to my mum’s to read over Christmas; though I am expecting a hefty pile of new books from Santa so I don’t know whether they will actually get read!
I’m most probably not going to be doing any blogging until Christmas is over, so I’ll take this opportunity to wish all of my lovely readers, known and unknown, a wonderful Christmas and a prosperous, joy filled, exciting New Year! Thank you for reading and commenting and entertaining me so well with your own brilliant blogs over these past few months, and I’ll see you all in 2010!

13 comments

  1. I always thought the commercials with the truck winding around said, "Santa packs are coming," not "Holidays are coming." Hmm.

  2. Rachel, have a wonderful and merry christmas with your family! Hope you enjoy your holiday reading. East Lynne is a lot of fun!

  3. Sounds like you're having a wonderful time of things, even the hectic moments. I laughed when I read that you love While You Were Sleeping as my husband can be heard moaning 'not again!' when it's on the television at our house…again. Have a wonderful holiday Rachel and Merry Christmas!

  4. True. Christmas is tiring. Even my 5th grade lil brother feels it. He says Christmas makes you bankrupt with all the Kris Kringles. Duh.I love Coca-cola adverts. It's always interesting. This post is funny! I guess I eat food for the same reason as you have – because it's there. Merry Christmas Rachel!Belching Words

  5. Have a wonderful, wonderful Christmas Rachel. I hope you get lots of delightful books and give us an update of them all when you get back! Enjoy yourself and I hope the New Year brings you all you could wish for.

  6. Sounds like a lovely way to spend the holiday! If you've got to be away from blogging, you've chosen the best things to keep you busy–friends and family and hopefully lots of good books. I love the movie While You Were Sleeping, by the way!Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and see you in 2010!

  7. Merry Christmas, and have a fantastic new year. Enjoy the extra chocolates, spending time with your family, and the books! :)See you in 2010!

Leave a Reply

