A Season of Richard Yates…and a giveaway!

Reading Shelf Love’s post on Revolutionary Road today reminded me of how much I loved the novel, and also that I have a pile of Richard Yates books sitting on my shelf to read that, quelle surprise, I haven’t got around to yet. Thanks to Fiona at Vintage I have quite a collection now; alongside Revolutionary Road (which, admittedly, I hurriedly bought and read before the film came out just so that I could smugly say that of course I’d read it, ages ago actually – I am called Book Snob for a reason), I have The Easter Parade, Disturbing the Peace, and Young Hearts Crying to read, and they all look spectacular. When I say look I mean visually as well as literarily, as the Vintage republication of Yates’ entire oeuvre is absolutely stunningly produced; the covers are beautiful and worth buying just to look at, in my opinion!

If you haven’t come across Yates yet, I very, very strongly urge you to pick up one of his books; Revolutionary Road is probably the best place to start. They aren’t cheerful reads, I’ll admit that, but in their searing, raw honesty about the painful truths of life, they are breathtakingly beautiful. His characters are dreamers, hemmed in by the banality of their own picture postcard lives, the dreams they had for themselves slowly dying day by day, killed by the pressures of reality, and buried under a suburban mound of housework and bitterness. Yates is criminally underread; the film of Revolutionary Road has brought about a small resurgence, but still, not enough to do justice to the sheer brilliance of his writing. So, I am going to be spending the next couple of months reading my small collection of Richard Yates, and I’d love it if some of you would care to join me. To help you along the way, I have one copy of Revolutionary Road and one of Disturbing the Peace to give away; please put your name in the comments along with which book you’d like to win (you can say both!). To give everyone a chance I’ll do the draw at the weekend. All nationalities are welcome to participate. Good luck!

42 comments

  1. I absolutely agree about Yates. His writing is wonderful,and even though I can be as big a snob as anyone about film adaptations, I'm glad Revolutionary Road was amde into a film because it has gotten him onto people's radar. (I'll sheepishly confess I'd never heard of him until the film came out.)I actually started with Easter Parade (won it from LibraryThing Early Reviewers), and I think it's every bit as good a Revolutionary Road–better in some respects. Anyway, don't put me down for the giveaway. Although I do intend to read more Yates, I'm trying to avoid acquiring more books right now🙂

  2. What you said about wanting to have read Revolutionary Road before the movie came out cracked me up. When the movie came out, I was all, oh hey, I should read that; but then I didn't want to be the girl who read it just because there was a movie, so I didn't read it until the movie had been out for a while. So silly!I'd love to be entered for Disturbing the Peace, if I could.

  3. I'd like to be entered to win Disturbing the Peace . . . since I can get Revolutionary Road on my Kindle🙂 Thanks!

  4. I loved Revolutionary Road and would be thrilled to win a copy of Disturbing the Peace. Thanks for the give-away!

  5. Admittedly, I haven't read Richard Yates yet, but I've always wanted to. Yes, before the movie came out.:) I'd like to be entered in the draw for Revolutionary Road. Thanks!

  6. I absolutely love Richard Yates (hello, Frank and April), and I think his short stories are little gems as well. I've set out to read the rest of his work–so thanks for this opportunity.It's very difficult to get his books (the non-movie cover versions or anything else) in this little archipelago I call home, so please put my name in the hat for Disturbing the Peace. :)Thanks–if you don't mind, I'll tag along as you read through his other books.🙂

  7. I adored Revolutionary Road and would love to join you in reading Young Hearts Crying (have a copy on the tbr). Would love to enter for Disturbing the Peace, please. Thanks for such a lovely giveaway!

  8. I picked up the Vintage copy of Revolutionary Road last year, but am still to read it (or any Yates). Will hopefully be reading it in the next few weeks.

  9. Thank you for the giveaway. Please could my name be entered in the draw for Disturbing the Peace. I read Revolutionary Road after the film came out because I prefer reading the books before the film. I haven't got round to watching the film yet, but though the book was fantastic and it has sparked my interest in further books by Yates.

  10. I'd love to read either of these, I've only read Easter Parade by Yates so far. It was so upsetting I haven't yet read more, very well written and affecting.

  11. Ooh – I'm a big Yates fan, discovered him shortly before he got trendy with the film last year. I've read all of his books but don't any so would love you to enter me in the draw!

  12. I haven't read any Yates yet, although I have a collection of short stories sitting on my shelf since last October that I've been meaning to read for weeks… Everyone I know loves him, so I would love you to enter me in the draw for "Disturbing the Peace".

  13. I just checked my shelves only to find that someone swiped my copy of Disturbing the Peace, before I had a chance to read it. The Easter Parade and Revolutionary Road are still safe and sound, and it'd be death to anyone who tried to walk out of the room with them. So put me in your hat for Disturbing the Peace please!

  14. I have not read any Yates so would be happy to read either if I am lucky in the draw.So glad you have taken up blogging and do hoipe that 2010 is a good year for you. Yours is one of the blogs I read regularly!

  15. Disturbing the Peace please. Loved Revolutionary Road which I also read well before the film. Can I be a book snob too, please?🙂

  16. I have to pop myself down for disturbing the peace… I cant buy books this year but I can enter giveaways hehehe. I have Revolutionary Road and do need to read it.

  17. I've not read Yates either, but Revolutionary Road is waiting in my netflix queue. Though I have to keep moving it because I too like to read books before the movie. 😉 So put me down for Revolutionary Road please.

  18. I loved Revolutionary Road even though it was somewhat disturbing. I also have Easter Parade by Yates which I am looking forward to as well.

  19. My dad read Revolutionary Road a few months back and was very impressed and it's now sitting on my TBR pile. Would love to be entered for Disturbing the Peach!

  20. Coincidentally I recently (as in, last week) bought a very cheap new copy of Revolutionary Road at long last. I intended to read it last year and actually ended up watching the movie first (which I prefer not to do) but it was outstanding and I am very excited about reading the book. I'd also like to be entered into the draw for Disturbing the Peace to read-along with you.

  21. Try to read his short stories if you can. I think that his short stories are magnificent and show his full scope as a writer. They really are exquisite.

  22. I've heard really great things about this author, would love to read his books. I'd like to be entered in both giveaways.🙂 Thank you!wakeupangel at gmail dot com

  23. I was very impressed by Revolutionary Road – which I have – and would love to try Disturbing The Peace, so put me down for that, please!(p.s. I *think* I've tried to add you on Facebook… but I may have got the wrong Rachel…)

  24. I would like to win both. I don't go to movies so I have not had the opportunity to be exposed to this author. Based on your review I will enjoy his writings.

  25. Please enter me into this prize draw.This post reminds me that I have a biography of Richard Yates called 'A Tragic Honesty' by Blake Bailey on my TBR pile.

  26. I have not read this author but you speak so passionately in support of his books that one is very tempted to find out more. Thank you for this. If I can be greedy and enter for both, please enter me. Thank you for making it open for international readers – much appreciated.

  27. Dear Rachel, I am a silent reader of your blog who got tempted by the book giveaway and decided to 'step into the limelight'. Could you please enter my name for both books, I haven't read any Yates yet but would love to!I hope the fog will give way to a bright blue sky soon. Miss M.

  28. Giveaway is now closed!!!!Thank you all for your comments and suggestions, and hello to everyone who has commented for the first time. It's been a delight to hear from you!

  29. Hi Rachel,Wanted to let you know that I have an award for youhttp://lakesidemusing.blogspot.com/2010/01/tss-over-top-catching-up-on-awards.html

Leave a Reply

