Off to Greece!

Well early tomorrow morning I’ll be flying off to Greece – I can’t wait! Have just finished watching My Big Fat Greek Wedding to get myself in the mood and am now very excited about touching down in the land of olive groves and baklava. As June has been rather lacklustre in England so far, I am mostly looking forward to the sunshine, but I am also looking forward to having time to read! Bliss!

I’m taking my next book club read, The Secret History, to read on the plane, plus I have packed Miss Buncle’s Book, I Capture the Castle, One Fine Day and The Handmaid’s Tale. I very much doubt I’ll get through them all, as I do like to do a fair amount of exploring on holiday, but I certainly shall try. I have experimented with planning a post to appear while I am away; I have reviewed Bluestockings: The Remarkable Story of the First Women to Fight for an Education, and hopefully it will post itself on Wednesday, so look out for that.

I shall see you all next week with plenty of photos to share!

23 comments

  1. Have a wonderful holiday, Rachel!🙂 Miss Buncle’s Book, I Capture the Castle and One Fine Day all sound like marvelous holiday books. Before I book blogged I used to try to take lots of serious books on holidays (thought I’d have time to reread Middlemarch on the beach, which is actually not a good idea at all!), now I will just take some Persephones, much better.

  2. Have a lovely time! Sunshine and beaches sounds really heavenly at the moment. It sounds like your reading choices will keep you occupied while you soak up the sun!

  3. Have a wonderful time. I was hoping that my Summer School reads would include ‘The Secret History’ so that I would have time to re-read it, but unfortunately the choice went a different way.

  4. Have a wonderful time Rachel. Greece is one of my very favourite countries and am planning on taking The Converted One next year at some point! Looking forward to hearing all about it on your return.

  5. Have a terrific time on your holiday, Rachel! I look forward to hearing all about it when you get back…but let’s hope time stands still while you’re there.

  6. Looks wonderful. On our last trip I packed The Handmaid’s Tale for my husband (I had already read it). But toward the end of the trip I picked it up just to refresh my memory a bit and ended up getting hooked all over again.

  7. Have a wonderful time and enjoy your holiday reading! One of my favourite novels is The Secret History. I wonder if you’ll like it.

  8. Oh enjoy your holiday! Greece is wonderful – enjoy eating fabulous food and exploring in the sunshine.

  9. I haven’t tried The Secret History, though it’s on our shelves. Must give it a try! The Handmaid’s Tale I read in solidarity with DD who was studying it for university. A chilling story!
    Hope you have a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

