A Little Reminder…

If you are planning on taking part in the Palladian read a long as part of the Elizabeth Taylor Centenary Celebrations, I will be posting about it next week, probably in more than one post…so if you want to join in, make sure you get it finished this weekend!!

Also, I have begun reading Sense and Sensibility, ready for a series of discussions towards the end of the month, like I did with Persuasion and Mansfield Park. So, if you’d like to join in, you have plenty of time to re-read (or read it for the very first time!) before the discussion starts! I look forward to having plenty of you join in!

Enjoy your weekends! I am off to a course at The School of Life today which will hopefully help me to work out what I want to do with my life. I’m also listening to this and the rest of the songs on the album, am contemplating starting a WW1 reading binge after seeing a fantastic review of this book, and am probably going to mosey along to this exhibition tomorrow, if the crowds aren’t too big!

12 comments

  1. I don’t have Palladian, but will definitely be joining in March’s read, since I’m hosting it!

    And I don’t even want to think about how many times I’ve listened to Video Games. It must be about a hundred. I preordered the album, and am trying not to listen to it too often… Video Games is still the most perfect little song I can imagine.

    1. A book you DON’T have, Simon? Surely this is not possible!😉

      Look forward to joining you next month…I have a silly amount of Taylor novels I haven’t read so this centenary business is proving fantastic at instigating me to actually get them read!

      I LOVE THAT SONG. I have listened to it all weekend!!

  2. I hope you found the School of Life course useful. It looks like reasonable value in an area where help very often does not come cheap. I’ve been on several courses recently aimed at helping me understand my personality and then use that understanding to find fulfilling work. I’ve also been reading and using a book called Learning to Leap by David Shindler which tackles similar issues, with a focus on increasing what he calls our “employability”.

    David has also created on online community, called the Employability Hub, where members can support and coach each other through the process of setting and working towards new career goals. It is free to join and it is not necessary to have read the book first. You just have to request a login – I think this is in order to avoid spam (https://dash.bloomfire.com/login). The community is still taking time to get going, but there are lots of useful links there and on David’s blog e.g. today’s post “How to find Job an Career Success” (http://www.employabilitycoaching.co.uk/talents-into-strengths). At the moment it looks a bit like the David and David show, with yours truly as the next most active contributor. For example, you might enjoy my piece about talent liberation which mischievously suggests that a lot of professional training is just a money-making exercise, keeping the providers in a job and but disguising the fact that there are too many people chasing too few jobs. Provocative, moi?

    Returning to fiction, I may join you in re-reading Sense and Sensibility. Let’s see if we disagree about that one as much as we did (in a friendly way) about Mansfield Park.

    1. Thanks David, that looks really interesting! I’m glad you’ve been getting help in making some new career goals. My main problem is that I know what I want to do, but it’s very difficult to actually get into the profession I want to be in, so it’s more a case of making my work life bearable until I can manage to make the leap!

      I hope you will join in for S&S – far less controversial I suspect!🙂

  3. I’m working on Palladian, but don’t think I’ll have it finished this weekend. I’m liking it very much, though, so thanks for inspiring me to read it!

  4. Thanks for the reminder, Rachel; I’ll go pull it off the shelf now. It’s such a slim volume…plenty of time for folks to seek out a copy, yet. I’m really looking forward to the re-read.

Leave a Reply

