Very Exciting News

tea or books

A couple of weeks ago, the lovely Simon at Stuck in Book asked me if I fancied partnering with him to create a podcast. As this seemed like a very exciting prospect, and something I would never have had the slightest clue about creating if I was doing it by myself, I didn’t hesitate to say yes. What could be more fun than chatting about books, and chatting about those books with Simon, who is hilarious and happens to (mostly) share my taste in literature?!

We recorded our very first podcast last week, and it’s now live and accessible via Stuck in a Book, right here!

As I am an actual Luddite, I am going to need to spend some time working out how to post it directly onto Book Snob, as there are many things involving hosting sites and other technological words I don’t understand that I need to navigate in order to so, but I hope I will have that sorted soon! Simon is also in the process of getting it onto iTunes, because he is far more competent than I am.

I’ve been blogging for six years now so it’s really exciting to have a new avenue of communication to explore. Simon and I are very keen to get your feedback and ideas – we’re still tinkering around with our equipment and such, and if anyone has any technological advice for me on posting to my blog, that would be much appreciated – but we hope you’ll really enjoy the concept as well as the opportunity to hear our dulcet tones rather than just reading our writing!

We’ve called our podcast ‘Tea or Books’, and the ‘or’ is key, as the premise of each podcast is going to be us debating two book-related topics. We like the idea of having a discussion around a theme or idea, followed by an author grudge match. So, our first podcast tackles the issues of books in translation v books written in English set abroad, and Emily v Charlotte Bronte. We are very open to suggestions for future topics, so please do comment below with any ideas!

I hope you’ll enjoy the first episode – please let us know what you think, and if you have anything to add to what we have discussed!

34 comments

  1. i was looking on iTunes yesterday for some bookish related podcasts but didnt come across this one. maybe its so new it hasn’t been listed yet. sounds fun though

  2. It is a wonderful debut! Y’all have me thinking that I want to read The Tenant of Wildfell Hall sooner than later since it’s the only one I haven’t read. I loved your assessment of Wuthering Heights – I read it decades ago, and have never had the least notion of revisiting it.🙂 Looking forward to the next episode.

    1. Thanks Susan! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Tenant is such a good read and Anne has quite a different writing style from her sisters so it should be an interesting point of comparison for you. I’m glad you agree on Wuthering Heights – I don’t understand people who love it! Hope you enjoy the next episode just as much🙂

  3. Just listened. I’ve left a comment on Simon’s blog, but thought I would drop back here to say it was interesting listening to your discussion, though I would have to listen again before being able attempt a sensible comment on the topics. And I was surprised at how easy it was to play!

  4. Wonderful! I haven’t commented on your blog for ages but I still drop by now and then. I will definitely check out the Podcast. What a perfect partnership. I’m sure I will love it. Would be strange to hear your voices after reading your blogs for years.

  5. Hello! I wanted to pop over here after having a listen to say congratulations! What a fun, smart, and entertaining book podcast! I’ve been following your blog for a few years (and this may be my inaugural comment) but I am so excited for this new adventure. Thank you!

  6. Was cursing myself for not asking about the release date of your first podcast in my last email so this is great news! Roman is looking forward to listening as well and I love that he’ll finally get to know both of you a little bit through the program.
    We have a Podcasting for Dummies book on the shelf at the library but I’m sure you can access some of that information on the internet, Rachel. At the very least they should use lingo that makes sense to the beginner. Off to download….

Leave a Reply

