The Hotel by Elizabeth Bowen

500px-Flickr_-_…trialsanderrors_-_La_Riviera_italienne,_travel_poster_for_ENIT,_ca._1920

This is Bowen’s first novel, and I’ve been saving it up for a while. I was looking forward to being able to read it from the perspective of having already read her greatest works, and I hoped it would provide more of an insight into her development as a writer. I wasn’t disappointed, but I was surprised. For, far from the slightly inferior novel I expected, The Hotel is just as good as those she wrote during the pinnacle of her career. It is slightly more conventional, perhaps a little easier on the reader than her more abstract later novels, but by and large, the skills she demonstrates in her masterpieces – To the North, The House in Paris, The Death of the Heart – are already on display in The Hotel, which is a remarkably polished, acutely observed and absolutely mesmerising piece of writing. I was more than a little galled to discover she wrote it at my age. I might as well just give up now!

It’s the roaring twenties, and in the small, select Riviera hotel chosen by a certain type of English tourist, there are a diverse group of individuals thrown together to winter in the Italian sun. Miss Pym and Miss Fitzgerald are seemingly mild mannered, timid spinsters, but this exterior hides a volatile, passionate relationship. Mrs and The Hon Pinkerton like to steep themselves in luxury, and know just exactly how things ought to be done. Mrs Kerr is a glamorous beauty, whose wisdom is much talked of and company much sought after by the other guests. Sydney Warren is a young flapper, searching for her identity. The Lawrence girls are keen to defy convention wherever possible. And poor Reverend Milton is looking for someone to take home with him. Amidst the stuffy Victorian furniture and rigid routine of the seemingly never ending days, spent shuttling between the tennis court, dining room and cliff top walk, love, passion, despair and disapproval hang tremulously in the air as each visitor imposes their own desires upon those of their fellow guests.

Like all of Bowen’s novels, nothing remotely dramatic takes place; the action is all in the tense, painful conversations where no one is quite able to express exactly how they feel – in the careless, frighteningly true observations of a child – in the veiled looks across a crowded room. Bowen operates in a world of shadows and silences, where the air is thick with all the words left unsaid. Outside the hotel, the idyllic countryside and warm sunshine are barely seen by the guests, whose personal lives remain their intense preoccupation. For some the hotel is the scene of great happiness and laughter, and for others, it is suffocating and full of despair. No one will leave untouched by their experience; especially not Sydney Warren, who is really the heart of the novel. Taken in by the domineering, slightly sinister Mrs Kerr, she falls passionately under her spell. Aloof and beautiful, she is much admired by the other guests, but she doesn’t really know who she is or what she wants, and her failure to understand her own heart and mind will prove to have tragic consequences by the time the last sleeper train arrives to take them all back to England.

Written in a series of beautiful, lyrical, wry and often very funny vignettes, The Hotel is a wonderfully evocative distillation of a world long gone. I got completely lost in it. If you’re looking for an entry point to Bowen, this would probably be a good place to start. Make sure you take your time and drink it all in, though; Bowen was a poet, and no word of hers should be wasted.

23 Comments

  1. Hi Rachel: OK, guess this will show me as less of a good person, but (I think) I told you so! The Hotel was the first Bowen I read, years ago, and it blew me away. So glad you liked it! Kathy/aka Ruby

    1. bookssnob says:

      Ha! I’m glad to have been shown the way, Kathy! We should rightly force each other to read books as good as this!

  2. Darlene says:

    I’ve been dying to read your thoughts on this one, Rachel! Obviously great minds think alike because I thought it was brilliant as well and while we’re at it – can’t you just see it as a ‘made for television’ production? The clothes, the scenery and that elevator in the hotel. As for Rev. Milton….*snort*!
    By the way, ‘Love’s Civil War’ (letters between Bowen and Ritchie) is a riveting read once you’re familiar with her work but my goodness that woman was romantic…

    1. bookssnob says:

      Oh yes – I was thinking that when I was reading it. It would make a lovely two episode little mini series. I must read those…I’ll get to them eventually!

  3. Elizabeth Bowen is one of my favourite authors, so I’m really glad you wrote this piece. Thank you!

    1. bookssnob says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Gillian!

  4. Vipula says:

    It sounds like a wonderful book. I have yet to read anything by Bowen so this may be a good place to start

    1. bookssnob says:

      It is – you should definitely give Bowen a try!

  5. Harriet says:

    This sounds great. I really got into Bowen after reading your reviews, and she quickly went to the list of favourite novelists. I now really need to get hold if this. Many thanks.

    1. bookssnob says:

      I’m so glad to hear that, Harriet! I’m sure you’d love The Hotel. Give it a try as soon as you can!

  6. What a lovely review – I have only read one Bowen (The Death of the Heart, which I loved) – but this one really must come off Mount TBR soon!

    1. bookssnob says:

      Yes it must! Glad you enjoyed the review!

  7. your blog is brilliant. i love i love.
    xx

    1. bookssnob says:

      Thank you! Welcome!

  8. mary says:

    Isn’t it galling when you realise that you’re too old to be a youthful prodigy! I keep meaning to re-read Bowen but I know I haven’t read this one.

    1. bookssnob says:

      I know…it’s sad that I’m already at that stage at only 27! You should, Mary – I know you’d like it!

      1. mary says:

        I bought a 1p one on Amazon last night!

      2. bookssnob says:

        Brilliant! Can’t wait to hear what you think!

  9. Great review! Bowen is a constant favourite of mine, but I’ve never tried this one. I’ll be sure to pick it up soon!

    1. bookssnob says:

      Thanks! I hope you’ll find time to pick it up soon.

  10. Blighty says:

    Thanks for this excellent review, I have never read this, I do like her books but find them so sad. I also had a go at Love’s Civil War but found it all a bit much, when I looked at photos of Ritchie I could not see what all the fuss was about and he sounded a cold fish…I love pics of her though, so stylish, such a strong, characterful face…

    1. bookssnob says:

      Yes, they’re not exactly uplifting, are they? I want to have a go at Love’s Civil War…will have to see what this Ritchie looks like now!

Leave a Comment