The Other Day by Dorothy Whipple

As you may remember, a few weeks ago I hit the jackpot on Charing Cross Road, scooping up a lovely copy of Dorothy Whipple’s autobiography of her childhood, The Other Day, for an absolute song. I have been looking for this book for years, and have never seen a copy for less than three figures (which is absurd), so to say I was thrilled is an understatement! Since finishing her novels last year, I have felt rather bereft without any new Dorothy to discover, so reading this was pure pleasure from beginning to end. In this charming and evocative look at her childhood, Whipple takes us back to Edwardian Lancashire and into the world of a curious and inventive little girl. Her keen insight and eye for domestic detail is just as rich and vivid as in her novels, as is the often bittersweet nature of ordinary life, with its simple pleasures and quiet tragedies all going on behind the doors of respectable middle class suburbia.

The Other Day is told in a series of vignettes that range from pre school age up to the early teenage years. In all of them, Whipple’s family loom large. Her mother, Ada, was a sensible, practical and loving woman who encouraged her daughter’s independence and literary interests. Her father was a kind and adventurous man, an architect by trade, and a caring and involved parent who was amused by Dorothy’s frequent escapades. Her brothers were largely background noise, people to kick under tables and fight with. Perhaps most prominent were her grandmother, a kind and wise figure of love and understanding, who always had ginger biscuits on the kitchen sideboard and plenty of books for Dorothy to curl up and read in peace and quiet, and Kate, the family servant, whose brusque and bustling manner hid a deep love for the family she had come to adopt as her own. The Stirrups (Whipple was her married name) were middle class, living in a succession of nice houses in prosperous Lancashire towns, where everybody knew everybody else and there was always a family member living just around the corner. Dorothy and her brothers could go outside and play all day without a care in the world, and from a young age they were trusted to walk to and from school by themselves. The children wanted for nothing, though they were certainly not spoilt, and the whole atmosphere of the book is one of a safe warmth that ensured a feeling of being loved and protected.

Perhaps because of this environment of secure happiness that was the background of her childhood, the memories Whipple mainly recalls are of times of trouble or worry. Early in the book, she describes the confusion and distress she experienced on the night her beloved baby sister died; the sound of muffled tears, the fear and sadness on the faces of adults, the closed doors and running feet, the lack of any explanation. She perfectly captures the helplessness of a small child caught up in an adult drama, unable to understand what has happened but painfully aware that something dreadful they have no power to change or stop has taken place. Another time of anxiety was when she had to take the trip across town to a Convent to sit her music exam; the trivial worries of childhood are perfectly described. Dorothy doesn’t worry so much about the actual exam, but rather about not getting off at the right tram stop, not knowing which door to go through when she reaches the Convent, and whether or not she will get any lunch. One of my favourite memories is the delight Dorothy took in making a Christmas present for her brothers; thinking up the concept, collecting the bits and pieces to make it, the pent up secret delight in the prospect of seeing them open it and treasure it as much as she did, all built up to bursting point on Christmas morning, when she proudly presented her brothers with the gift she had spent so long making. Their indifference towards it was crushing. I remember many such efforts of my own being received in a less than grateful spirit by my siblings, and I felt little Dorothy’s pain acutely.

It’s not all bad memories, though, of course; there are countless wonderful moments of long, peaceful afternoons basking in the warm love of her grandmother, gleeful playtimes in sun dappled fields with school friends, mornings spent in a flour clouded kitchen, baking bread in quiet companionship with her mother, weekend outings to the country, guilty night time cuddles with her baby brother – all lovely and touching reminiscences from a childhood that was perfectly ordinary, yet also unique and special in its own way. What I found most interesting about reading this was what an adult self remembers of their childhood. When I try and look back over my own, I too only remember snapshots; the smell of the conifer trees at the end of the garden, the seemingly endless hot summers spent splashing in the blue tarpaulin paddling pool we filled up with freezing water from the garden hose, climbing trees in the park with my best friend, sitting with my brother and sister under the dining room table that had been made into a cave by draping a bed sheet over it, crying uncontrollably when my primary school teacher shouted at me for my messy handwriting, the triumph of being the star of the school play, the anger and frustration of being sent to my room for something my brother had done and which had been blamed on me. None of these memories are particularly significant or important, but for some reason they remain vivid, while others have faded. Often my sister or my brother will ask ‘do you remember when…’ and I will try and grasp for the memory, but fail to find it. Why have they retained that memory of a shared experience, while I haven’t?

Why did Dorothy Whipple remember certain events, and how and why did she choose to write about the particular ones she does? Memoirs and memories always raise these interesting questions, and that is why I find them so fascinating to read. What we choose to remember is quite telling of who we are as people, I think, and while The Other Day might be about Whipple’s childhood, it also says a lot about the adult she was, and the writer she was too. She shows in this, as well as in her novels, that it is the little things that make up a life, the insignificant nothings of everyday existence that form who we are. I do very much hope that this will be reprinted one day. It’s marvellous.

28 Comments

  1. heavenali says:

    Oh I so want to read this now. I too hope that someone may re-publish it – should we be urging Persephone books or slightly foxed to do so for us?

    1. bookssnob says:

      I think it is in Persephone’s plan to republish at some point…but I’m not certain about that! I would say that it’s not as sophisticated as her novels, but for those who appreciate her writing, its interest and significance go beyond what’s on the page as there is as yet no official biography looking at her childhood and influences etc. As such, I do think if anyone reprints it, it would be Persephone. Fingers crossed!

      1. heavenali says:

        Ooh I hope they do re-publish it – I would be fascinated to read it.

      2. Marian Holmes says:

        I second that and would be first in line to buy a copy. My library has a copy, but as a “precious book” you cannot loan it. I too have searched for it unsuccessfully in second hand book shops. I have read The Other Day several times in the distant past when you could borrow it, but would to own a copy

  2. Susan E says:

    I borrowed this from a library last year and enjoyed her eye for a story and the telling detail. I also wondered about the effect of her own life on her books…I could certainly see a resemblance between the loving relationship with her grandmother and the grandmother-granddaughter relationship in Greenbanks, for example. And I loved the story of how she raided the family garden for a good cause, even if it didn’t turn out as she thought.

    1. bookssnob says:

      I’m glad you’ve had a chance to read it, Susan! Yes – now you mention it, I can see the grandmother link too. There are also the figures of her aunts and uncles who I can see reflected in Greenbanks. Oh that story was wonderful! She already had a writer’s romantic sensibility at such a young age!

  3. Yes, very telling are the memories we “select” to retain. There is a discipline of psychology that says whatever our earliest memory is, tells us the energy of our lives. For instance, if the memory is running, action. Reading, inquisitiveness. Crying, sensitivity. Interesting.

    1. bookssnob says:

      That is interesting, Nancy! I think my earliest memory is of running, which would make sense!

  4. Merenia says:

    Thanks for sharing this Rachel, especially as I’m not likely to be reading this anytime soon at the going rate. What a find.
    Is there a Whipple biography? Another opportunity???

    1. bookssnob says:

      Glad you enjoyed it, Merenia – you never know, it might turn up somewhere near you! I couldn’t believe my eyes when I found it, but copies are out there somewhere to be discovered!
      No there isn’t – perhaps, perhaps! 🙂 I love your confidence in me!

  5. Mystica says:

    Anything by Dorothy Whipple has been on my radar for years. The possibility of finding this is remote but one can never say. Stranger things have happened in my part of the world.

    1. bookssnob says:

      Exactly, Mystica – I found a Whipple in a junk shop in a tiny seaside village in South Africa, so stranger things have happened!!

  6. I plan on spending a lot of time in second hand bookstores on the Maine coast in early August. My quest is to find a hidden Whipple somewhere. Might be fruitless, but I will have fun looking. There are so many bookstores along the coast, I may come home paler than before my vacation.

    1. bookssnob says:

      Thomas, I am painfully jealous. I long to visit Maine! You may just find that treasure – I wish you all the luck in the world. You do make me laugh – I look forward to seeing the photos when you get back!

  7. I’m still trying to persuade my library to get some Dorothy Whipple. They did manage to obtain The Closed Door from the other end of the county, but that was it – nothing else in the whole of Staffordshire!!!!

    1. bookssnob says:

      Oh Christine, you poor thing! I think Kensington and Chelsea libraries have all of her works including this – ask your library to ILL from them!

  8. m says:

    What a lucky find. I had this out from the library and could hardly bear to give it back, especially as it hadn’t been borrowed for years.

    1. bookssnob says:

      Mary, have I taught you nothing? It would have been a victimless crime. Victimless.

      1. mary says:

        I think of you every time I’m tempted, Rachel. I’m clearly the victim of a proper upbringing! And I have one of those guilty faces …

  9. Kathy says:

    Hi Rachel. Glad you liked it. I did not. I felt she did not tell very good stories, that she was too close to it. Maybe I should have kept going. On the other hand, I really liked Random Commentaries, a book of her jottings. Kathy aka Ruby

    1. bookssnob says:

      Oh no, Kathy! I loved her stories and the keen eye for domestic detail. I would agree that it wasn’t as compelling as her novels, but still definitely worth reading and of interest nonetheless. I have Random Commentary to read next, and am looking forward to comparing the two. I’m glad you liked those as I have high hopes for them!

  10. Enid Lacob says:

    I love Dorothy Whipple but only read those by Persephone. Our second hand bookshops have become few and far between. I did find a marvellous first edition Elizabeth Bowen in a charity shop. in one whipple ( Green banks I think ) a character describes her feeling for her dominating husband as trying to get a heavy matress up the stairs i thought that was brilliant. i can’t wait for my October holiday in London to trawl second hand bookshops. Thanks for my prize. I can’t wait for that too. all the best from a cold wet cape town

    1. bookssnob says:

      Enid, if you go to Gordon’s Bay there is an amazing bookshop there where I found two original 1930’s Dorothy Whipples a couple of years ago. It’s a real treasure trove and well worth the trip! Glad you found a Bowen – hope you enjoy her as much as me! You are so welcome about the prize, and if I can offer any second hand book shop pointers for your trip, please let me know!

      1. Enid Lacob says:

        Yes I know that Gordon’s bay shop I must go there again. Any chance of you coming here ?

  11. I am extremely ashamed that I’ve yet to read any Whipple. I know, I know, it’s frighteningly embarrassing. I wouldn’t even know where to start; I know her books are loved and treasured!

    1. bookssnob says:

      Don’t be ashamed – just get reading! Most people start with Someone at a Distance and I’d say that was probably a good place to get your bearings – if you love that, you’ll love the rest!

  12. Hiya, I’m truly pleased I’ve establish this info. These days bloggers publish only in relation to gossips and obtain and this is actually frustrating. A clear situate with exciting subject matter, this is what I necessary. Gratitude for keeping this website, I will ensue visiting it. Perform you perform newsletters? Cant get hold of it.

  13. Julia Harding says:

    I believe Persephone are publishing this in October 2022!

Leave a Comment